Daniel Pestka will drive the Jason and Jodie Gill owned #74 in Darwin

Strong "South Aussie Posse" Heads North For COT
Author : SCW Media

Over the next two weekends a strong representation from the “South Aussie Posse” will head north to contest the 2019 Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series at the Northline Speedway in Darwin. In all a total of 8 South Australian drivers will compete in the four-night tournament including leading stars such as World Series Sprintcars Champion Steven Lines, Ryan Jones, Matt Egel, Daniel Pestka, Brock Hallett and Glen Sutherland.

Recently Sprintcarworld.com.au was able to catch up with a few of the South Australian drivers who will be in action at the 2019 Chariots of Thunder Series.

Last weekend saw both Jones and Sutherland compete at Northline during the Northern Territory Title with Jones leading the race early before his right rear tyre sealed over forcing the Murray Bridge based racer to settle for fourth.

“Its good to be able to run 5 races in Darwin a month or so before the season starts down here. We have a new marketing partner in Apex Steel Supplies, and they have just opened in Darwin, so I am happy to assist in gaining them some local exposure at the same time” added Ryan shortly after he returned home following his opening night of competition.

“It was good to knock some rust off Friday night. What they have done facility wise needs to be applauded. The concrete pads, sealed roads, the lighting, the entire pit area reminds me of the Motorplex. With 5 grid up lanes to get races in and out, it was a well-oiled machine for sure”.

In addition to Jones Matt Egel and Daniel Pestka are also thrilled to kicking off their season’s early, with both drivers sourcing rides for the Northern trek.

In the past Egel has driven for the Whyalla Earthworks Racing Team piloting one of their Modlites but for the next two weeks he will strap himself into their #52 Maxwill powered Cool Chassis. Last season the team made limited appearances with Victorian Brayden Cooley behind the wheel but Egel has taken over the driving duties for the COT.

“I’m looking forward to the challenge ahead driving for a new team and I can’t thank Geoff and Michael Brown from Whyalla Earthworks enough. I can’t wait to race in Darwin for the next couple of weekends and escape the cold weather” commented the former State Champion.

Like Egel, Strathalbyn’s Daniel Pestka will drive for a different team with Jason and Jodie Gill offering Pestka the opportunity to head to Darwin. Pestka is no stranger to the cockpit of the #74 having driven the car at an early season practice at Murray Bridge last season along with the South Australian Title at Westline Speedway back in February.

For Pestka it will be a tough assignment as he has never raced at the venue.

“I’m really looking forward to racing at Northline Speedway in the Chariots of Thunder Series. I haven’t raced there or even seen the track before, so I don’t know what to expect but I can’t wait. There is a great car count with some of the best drivers in Australia so it is going to be tough. I’m so appreciative of the opportunity that I have been given by Jason Gill Racing and a massive thanks goes out to their sole sponsoring partner Lucas Total Contract Solutions” commented Daniel.

The entire South Australian line-up includes – S11 Scott Enderl, S13 Brock Hallett, S20 Glen Sutherland, S45 Jake Tranter, S52 Matt Egel, S63 Ryan Jones, S74 Daniel Pestka, Q83 Steven Lines.

All Photos provided By Phil Michell Motorsport Media